Irony

It’s like a star dropped by my window. The pen spill into words like tears on a love letter I never got to write. The pages lept airy into the wind, but fell ever so flatly.This night is frenzy. The edges of my skirt ripple into a wave as her arms reach out to grab what’s left behind: mementos of the girl I used to be.

The floor shivers in excitement, soaking in the falling parts of me.  And everything slows down.

It’s like a star visited my window. And I fell weak to the truth that followed. Like melting icecaps it crumbles over these caging mountains, this heart, and walls get weighed down in your frivolity. I love you no more.

But I love you. I love you no more. But I love you.

Somewhere the mountains creak and shift and mourn your mistake, you only had to wait. You only had to wait. I battled the universe and roamed galaxies raising a hurricane in our name. You only had to wait.

But now the echo fills my soul with moving. See I need to go, for I was never made to stay. I come like the storm you never wanted and leave like the breeze you wish would linger just a little longer.

I extended in ellipses to light the way in honor of your dreams. Now I leave the trail in a fading sigh. I named you Faith, and swore it would be the last time.

The last time is here. So I dance to the morning waking up so quietly.

Here, here’s a shaving of the sun, kissed in your name. Here, here’s a dream, I dreamt in your name. Here, here’s the sum of all the faith, so beautifully golden, for you. Keep it.

And remember me in the keys we heard today. . . And remember me in the keys we heard today.

One thought on “Irony

Leave a Reply

